Building Houses

So I discovered this small article that details the processes that have helped keep some buildings from 12th century Scandinavia intact for almost a thousand years. It’s not Viking Age, but it does fall into the Literary Age. 🙂 And I think it’s just fascinating to see how you can prep your lumber before cutting down the tree. And that it will last so long!

For something building-related for the late Viking Age, I suggest learning more about the Viking House at the University of Wisconsin — Green Bay (on its Facebook page you can see the new paint job). I had the honor to be able to stay overnight at this house (built by Master of the Laurel, Guttorm meistari Arneson, his articles and class handouts can be found at the Guest Hall at Eithni’s Keep) thanks to Master Edwin atte Bridge, in the fall of 2012, before it was donated to the University. It is an experience I still remember and draw from. I hope to get to visit it in its new home one of these days.

Guttorm meistari has an material on the building technique Grindbygningen, as well as References on Viking Age Buildings, and Longhouse slides.

For those not in the know, I am leading a workshop about Viking Age runes on Saturday. And for once, I thought I would have my handouts available on the blog, so as to save on paper. So, that’s what’s been posted today. The Old Norse Pronunciation one in particular I want to doll up more, but as I had to make a whole new handout for the class from scratch starting earlier this week, I will leave the dressing up for later.

Old Norse Pronunciation Handout

:: ᚽᚢᛆᛐᛌᛁᚴᛁᚱ • ᛆᚢᛁᛆᛓᛆᛌᛆᛐᚢᛐᛁᚱ ::
Hvat segir þú?
Old Norse Pronunciation
Eyja Bassadóttir

 

4EDC7A44-4A55-4673-A204-2D1539E4EB6B.jpeg

 

  • Scandinavian Iron Age 400-800
  • Viking Age in England 795-1066
  • Viking Age in Scandinavia 750-1050
  • Viking Age in Russia 750-1200
  • Old Norse language c. 600-1300
    • West Norse Dialect vs. East Norse Dialect

–> Old Icelandic, Old Norwegian, etc. –> Old Danish, Old Swedish, etc.

  • Standardized Old Norse
    • Created in the 19th c.
    • Based mostly on manuscripts from 13th c. Iceland
    • Period writing has vast variations in spellings
    • Period manuscripts have lots of abbreviations
  • Period attempt at standardization in 12th c., the First Grammatical Treatise
    • Gives valuable linguistic insight into Old Norse
    • Did not get adopted at all

Continue reading “Old Norse Pronunciation Handout”